I’m currently studying to become a pharmacy technician as a requirement for my job. I take my test a few days before Jaylen’s 3rd birthday. I repeat, this is a REQUIREMENT for my job so if I fail there’s a possibility that I will get fired. It’s kinda, sorta a big deal that I study and pass this test. Plus I paid (my mom paid, lol) $129 to take it… and we don’t want that money to go to waste. Since these two important events were happening right around the corner from each other, I said I wasn’t going to throw him a birthday party. I didn’t want to distract myself from studying.

I changed my mind a week later…

We have went through hell and back since Jaylen’s last birthday. Between his father and the drama with us, moving from house to house because of that drama, and other little things, I feel like we finally have a reason to celebrate something so why not take the opportunity that is in front of us?

This is not a joint party. His father is not invited nor is his family. I don’t want drama. I don’t want negativity. It will be this way for Julian’s first birthday and all of their birthdays until further notice. I honestly feel it’s the best option for everyone involved. We all don’t care for each other so it’s best that we stay out of each other’s way.

Now, let this be known, I hate throwing parties. I hate planning, buying, decorating, cleaning… all of the above. But I love seeing a smile on my kid’s face so I know this will be worth it.

I’m planning a Paw Patrol themed party because this kid is OBSESSED with them. He lives and breathes them. He wakes up and goes to sleep singing their theme song. He associates every color to every character on the show. And I can thank YouTube for this.

I am completely overwhelmed though. I thought “oh this won’t be that bad or expensive“… well yeah, I definitely lied. Plates for example: the boring plates will be $5 for a pack of 10 but the Paw Patrol plates are $50 for 10. Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating a little bit but GEEZ. It’s the same materials, it does the same job but having those dang dogs on the front costs me ten times more. And there’s SO many things that I didn’t even think about prior to planning like party favors for the kids.

This is much different from planning his 1st birthday party because all I had to worry about was finding a venue and making sure people actually came. LOL Jaylen was turning one, so he didn’t really care if we celebrated in a box with a pack of crayons.

Now that he’s a little older and has his own preferences, he’s my biggest critic! The pressure is definitely on! Wish me luck guys!

635764600196056516-1952110989_tumblr_inline_n873bdBpKV1qboyyx

 

 

 

