A lot of people my age are just getting started in their careers. They’re getting married, in a serious relationship, or single and have no intentions on changing that anytime soon. A few others are  traveling in and out of the country, trying to take on as much of the world as possible before they have kids. Then there’s that small group of people who literally live life on the edge with no care in the world. Partying every weekend, making poor decisions… literally, YOLO is their current life motto.

I, on the other hand, am in a totally different place than my fellow peers. I feel older than I really am. I realized this a couple of weeks ago when I went out with a group of people. Everyone was “turning up” and I was just like “blah“. I did enjoy the night overall but I guess my idea of going out is very different than most. I no longer enjoy the rough, provocative dancing I once did in my previous years of college. I don’t smoke and my idea of drinking is sipping on cognac instead of taking back to back shots. I’d rather go to a mix and mingle event instead of a packed out party where I can hardly breathe.

I rarely go out, though. I love the feeling of being home. I’m gone for 40+ hours during the week so when I actually get the chance to sit down and enjoy the house that I pay for every month, I take it.

My non-mommy friends joke and call me a granny, but I don’t take it personally. I love my granny life! Every once in awhile, I check back into 23-year-old me and let loose.

When you have kids, you have to think about them and how the decisions you make will affect them. EVERYTHING you do will affect them in some way. Even if you don’t have kids, you still mature and grow out of the things that once brought excitement into your life. It’s a part of life. So don’t feel bad the next time your friend’s make fun of you for taking a nap on a Saturday afternoon or binge watching your favorite show with a bottle of wine… if that’s what make you happy, then DO IT. 🙂

giphy-1

